: lower black pain
: lower black pain.
Sugar Skulls and Marigolds.
1
0:00
-2:25

Sugar Skulls and Marigolds.

spookytime: part 4 of 4: a new trick
1

Here lies sit-ups:
“25,
every day”.

I’ve been alive
650 months so far.

This never happened.

It’s bizarre –
I bought a mat,
a book, an app…

if I lie down,
I take a nap.

Simple fitness
done half-hearted:
Here lies sit-ups,

never started.

Here lies gluten
Croissants. Guinness.
When’d we last have that stuff in us?

I remember Krispy Kremes
sweet fat filled cardiologic dreams
but Twizzlers were my favorite treat
(how the heck’s that made of wheat?)

Staff of life
But not for me

Here lies gluten
Permanently.

Here lies midnight

Much too late

Once a year I’d try to wait
but London’s fireworks are great
and done by half past six. By eight
I’m yawning, eyelids not so steady
“Hey Year, c’mon, just end already.”

backwards counting clocks are fine
both down to twelve or down to nine
It’s a theory throughly tested.

Here lies midnight
better rested.

Here lies
backpacking alone

Over there, tequilas prone

That plot there’s a perfect choice
for Ulysses by James Joyce

Time is short
though days seem long

I don’t know, there’s nothing wrong
it’s, just the way this season pulls

all marigolds and sugar skulls

reminds me that, if Labrador
I’d probably be on Cycle 4

So I tried some thing new to share
a Calaveras poem this year
a gashlycrumbly little rhyme
commemorating spookytime

inspiring things to decompose
old aspirations, habits, clothes –

Oh! Here lies blue in any jean. Yeah.

Whew. Well, Happy Halloween.

1 Comment
: lower black pain
: lower black pain.
Life’s lemons into rich, dark chocolate.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jd Michaels