: lower black pain
: lower black pain.
Dwowsy.
2
0:00
-2:10

Dwowsy.

oh for yawn.
2

Every weekday afternoon
at 3 o’clock
the day becomes so

heavy

though its balance is far past the tipping point
the last few hours
looming ahead
are somewhat overwhelming and I just get so

tired.

I make a cup of caffeine free tea
which perks me up because
the water is just far
too hot

then back to work with
wistful sighs for
simpler times when
complex afternoons
were met with mats and window shades.

I miss naps
so much more
than i miss youth
(which was exhausting)
every day
at 3 o’clock
we’d all lay down
and close our eyes
for just a minute

maybe 20

did we appreciate this?
no.
we didn’t
we were foolish children
unaware
unable to anticipate
the weariness
of every day
as grown-ups

and we wasted so much
time we could have
closed our eyes
– for just a minute.

I’ve never enjoyed sleeping
all that much
sleep’s not that into me
my mind transforms
into a loud
unconscious sketchpad
working out the day ahead

but naps
well nestled in the chaos
were a keen respite
from conscious mayhem

and when you woke up
there was juice
from plastic jugs
with colors neon bright
in paper cups
a liquid sweetness never matched
by the finest wines
available to humanity

I never liked the cookies
they were always dry
unsatisfying
cookies should be warm

but the juice and naps were golden

that’s what I
am thinking of
each weekday afternoon
behind my desk
with too hot
tea

at 3 o’clock.

2 Comments
: lower black pain
: lower black pain.
Life’s lemons into rich, dark chocolate.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jd Michaels